You saw that D60 or D3x listed at B&H or Adorama and then do a search. Suddenly you see Brooklyncamera.com or some other "official" looking website has the same camera for less. Maybe a LOT less.

It's tempting, but remember this simple rule. Anyone who's selling a camera or lens for 100 dollars (or more) less than B&H or Buydig.com may be a scam website.

But you IGNORE this. The fantasy of getting your dream camera for a low price wins the battle. You decide the website looks "too real" to be fake and you order that D300 for an amazing 1199.00!

Then you get the e-mail. It says CALL to confirm your order and when you do some fellow explains that the 1199 only pays for the body and not the battery, charger or even manuals. He might tell you it's the Chinese version and made of plastic or any number of other silly items. If you argue he may hang up and when you try to cancel it will take a good deal of effort. They may even try to charge a restock fee!

This is going on right now. These sites operate under a wide variety of names and prey on the ignorant folk who don't think this could be going on. But it is. You can enter the name of any seller into Ressellerratings.com and see how good they really are.

If you're serious about your gear then it's time to realize that sellers like B&H, Adorama, Buydig.com or Ritz are already quite close to the bottom price. You might find a slightly better price than Buydig.com, but not by much. And you want to buy from an Authorized seller for warranty validation.

If the price looks too good to be true.....then don't do it!